Cream Scones

 Cream Scones 3

Two of my favorite things about the weekend are sleeping in and breakfast. As much as I enjoy savory fare like eggs and bacon, I’m a sucker for morning pastry. Pancakes, waffles, muffins and scones – oh my!

Cream Scones

Whenever I’m looking for a simple breakfast pastry, I always turn to one of my vintage cookbooks since I like to think that there was a wholesome goodness to cooking from back in the day. The recipes are uncomplicated, albeit lacking in description at times, and use very basic ingredients. 

Cream Scones 2

This morning I turned to a very reliable book authored by Fannie Merritt Farmer. Yes, Fannie Farmer was real and an American culinary expert! Her recipe is delightful and everything you’d expect from a scone with a nice outer crust and a biscuit-like center. And because I love a good crunch, I chose to add another layer of texture by sprinkling raw sugar on the tops of the scones. Now that I got my chance to sleep in and enjoy a great breakfast, I’m off to a wonderful weekend and I hope you are too.

Cream Scones
Adapted from The Boston Cooking School Cook Book, 1941 edition
Makes: about 8 wedges, Difficulty: Beginner

Scones:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream
  • granulated or raw sugar

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Mix and sift dry ingredients. Work in butter with a pastry mixer, fork or by hand until the mixture resembles course crumbs. Crack eggs into a small bowl, reserving a small amount of egg white. Beat eggs well. Add eggs and cream into the dry mixture. Mix together with a fork or by hand. Work into a ball. Put on a clean, floured board or counter. Pat or roll into a disk that is about 3/4-inch thick. Cut into 8 wedges.

Place wedges onto baking sheet. Brush with reserved egg white and sprinkle with sugar. Bake 9-11 minutes until the top and bottom are golden brown.

Comment

