Ginger Garlic Turkey Meatballs

Ginger Garlic Turkey Meatballs
“What do you want to eat for dinner?” I asked my husband.

“You know I love those meatballs you make,” he replied.

“Seriously, again?” I responded, furrowing my brow a little. Although a little repetitive, it’s really very sweet that he enjoys the flavors of my turkey meatballs so much that he requests them on a regular basis. Because of that, I feel it’s only appropriate that my first savory post be about them.

Ginger Garlic Turkey Meatballs

These meatballs were a product of not knowing what to cook for dinner one evening. I knew I wanted something Asian inspired, kind of like teriyaki but kind of not. I looked around to see what I could collect in the refrigerator and pantry. I came back with ground turkey, green onions, garlic, and ginger.  Definitely ingredients I could work with.

I ended up throwing those items into a bowl with some soy sauce and bread crumbs and behold, the ginger garlic turkey meatballs were born! They’re moist with the soy sauce, ginger, and garlic flavors working well together. They’re also best served with hot, freshly cooked white rice or even lettuce cups if you’re trying to cut down on the carbs.

“So?” I asked my husband while he taste tested the meatballs for the first time.

“Dang, I would pay good money for these.” He said taking another bite. I still haven’t figured out how much to charge him.

Ginger Garlic Turkey Meatballs
Recipe by Pixelbaking
Makes: about one dozen 2 1/2-inch meatballs, Difficulty: Beginner

Meatballs:

  • 20 ounces ground Turkey (I like to use 97% fat-free)
  • 1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons plain bread crumbs
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup green onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 teaspoon fresh ginger, finely grated (or 1 teaspoon ginger paste)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil, for frying

In a medium bowl, combine all the ingredients. Mix thoroughly with a wooden spoon.

Heat oil on medium-high in a large skillet or pan with higher sides for frying. Take about 2 tablespoons of the mixture and shape into 2 1/2-inch patties. Place in the oil and fry for 4 minutes, checking periodically to make sure the meatballs do not burn. Turn over and fry for another 4 minutes, checking occasionally. At this point the meatballs should be nicely browned. Turn again and fry for another minute to make sure they are cooked through.  Transfer the patties to a plate lined with paper towels to cool and to drain some of the oil.

  • Note: This recipe is versatile and fairly forgiving when altering the ingredients to add or lessen flavor. I have made different versions by adding 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes for some spice and substituting yellow onion for the green.
Comment

