Skillet Apples

Skillet Apples

I can hardly believe that Summer is more than half over – where has the time gone? I know this is a bit premature for many people, but I already started to think about Autumn and all of the festive baked goods that I wanted to create.

Skillet Apples

Two of the biggest scents that remind me of Fall are apples and cinnamon.  There’s just a warm, comforting allure to the smell of cooking apples and cinnamon that I simply adore during the crisp months between October and January. Since I had Autumn on my mind, I started to think of a quick and easy way to get my fix. It was a weeknight and I unfortunately did not have time to bake a full-blown crisp or pie, so I opted for the filling instead. 

This dessert is practically apple pie filling and is great alone or with a scoop of vanilla ice cream or gelato. If you enjoy a slight tartness, I encourage you to use Granny Smith or Honeycrisp Apples. This recipe is also a winning option for gluten-free diners or for an impromptu dessert since it takes less than 30 minutes from start to finish. Definitely don’t wait until the Fall to give this a try!

Skillet Apples
Inspired by Danny Boome, Food Network
Makes: 4-6 servings, Difficulty: Beginner

Skillet Apples:

  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 4 Granny Smith or favorite apples, peeled, cored and cut into 1/16ths
  • 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 4 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons Triple Sec or any orange flavor liqueur
  • Vanilla ice cream (optional)

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Once heated, add the butter. Melt the butter and coat the bottom of the pan. Once melted, add the apples and cook for about 3-5 minutes. Add the cinnamon, brown sugar, and liqueur. Mix to make sure all of the apples get coated. Lower heat to medium and cook for 6-8 minutes, stirring occasionally until the apples are soft. Serve warm.

Comment

