Herb Cream Cheese Dip

Herb Cream Cheese Dip

It’s nearly been three months since I returned from my trip to London and I still can’t get enough of anything remotely close to English. Call me a little crazy and obsessed! You’re probably thinking that a dip with herbs isn’t really English and wondering what I’m going on about, but there’s a reason I started to talk about that corner of the world.

Herb Cream Cheese Dip

That’s because this dip is based on a recipe that I found on the BBC Food page. There was a period of a week, specifically the week after I returned from London, when everything I cooked was from BBC Food and that’s when I discovered all of their great recipes and ideas. I came across this herby delight earlier in the week and I knew I had to try it.

Herb Cream Cheese Dip

Like my other finds, this recipe doesn’t disappoint. You can serve this dip with a sliced baguette, potato chips, or crudites. You can even use it as a spread for bagels or sandwiches since it has a flavor that will lend itself to a variety of meats and cheeses.  The wonderful part about this dip is that the longer you let it sit, the more pronounced the flavors become. I highly recommend letting it chill in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours (or more if you can wait) to let the herbs and garlic work their magic.

Herb Cream Cheese Dip
Adapted from BBC Recipes
Makes: about 1 1/2-cups, Difficulty: Beginner

Dip:

  • 8 ounces cream cheese
  • 6 ounces plain greek yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons chives, finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoons fresh basil, finely chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • pinch of cayenne pepper, optional

In a medium bowl, combine the cream cheese and greek yogurt. Using a hand mixer, beat on a low-speed until smooth. Add the vinegar, chives, basil, garlic, and cayenne pepper (if using). Beat for another minute on low-speed until all ingredients are well blended.  Season with salt and pepper to taste. Chill for at least 2 hours to allow the flavors to develop.

  • Note: Any mixture of 3 tablespoons of herbs can be used in this recipe.  Other suggestions are: cilantro, tarragon, and parsley.
Comment

