Banana Cake with Chocolate Chip Streusel

Banana Cake with Chocolate Chip Streusel

I always try to stock my pantry with fresh fruit and one of my favorites to keep on hand are bananas. The only problem is that sometimes the bananas don’t get eaten in a timely manner and I’m stuck with soft, browning lumps. I’m sure you’ve also experienced the dilemma where you no longer want to eat them, but you also don’t want to throw them away. That’s pretty much how I felt as I looked at the extremely over ripe bananas on my counter.

Banana Cake with Chocolate Chip Streusel

My usual solution is to bake a batch of banana bread muffins, but today I felt like trying something different. Surely there must be a plethora of banana recipes out there! I started to search around various sites for ideas and I finally landed on a banana coffee cake with layers of chocolate chip streusel.

Banana Cake with Chocolate Chip Streusel

Banana with chocolate is one of my favorite combinations (shout out to Ben & Jerry’s Chunky Monkey!) so I had a feeling I’d enjoy this coffee cake. I was not disappointed! The chocolate, cinnamon, and walnut topping baked into a fantastically crunchy topping that put this banana cake over the top. I loved the streusel topping so much that I even declared this to be my new favorite banana recipe.

Next time you’re considering tossing those old bananas away, don’t do it. Bake up this coffee cake instead!

Banana Cake with Chocolate Chip Streusel
Adapted from Epicurious
Makes: 8×8-inch cake, Difficulty: Beginner

Streusel:

  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon

Cake:

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/3 cups banana, mashed (about 3)
  • 3 tablespoons heavy cream

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a 8×8 baking pan with foil and lightly grease with butter or cooking spray.

Make the streusel: Stir together the chocolate chips, brown sugar, walnuts and cinnamon; set aside.

Make the cake: Combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt into a medium bowl; set aside. Using an electric hand mixer, beat butter and sugar until creamy. Add in egg and vanilla and mix until well incorporated. On low-speed, mix in mashed bananas and cream. Add in dry ingredients and mix on low until just combined.

Spread half of the batter into the prepared baking pan. Sprinkle with half of the streusel mixture. Repeat with remaining batter and streusel. Bake cake for 45 minutes or until a cake tester comes out cleanly. Remove from oven and cool cake completely on a wire rack.

  • Note: The chocolate chips may be replaced with the chocolate of your preference. Likewise, pecans or even macadamia nuts can be substituted for the walnuts.
Comment

