Reese’s Pieces Cookies

DSC05560

Oh cookies, there are so many out there you would think that I could never be at a loss for one to bake. I only wish that was the case. I have a friend who has been requesting baked treats from me on a fairly regular basis. I love her because she’s very open-ended with her orders and just asks for a variety, but sometimes it’s a challenge for me to come up with all around crowd pleasing goodies.

Reece's Pieces Cookies

I’ve gone through the classics of chocolate chip, peanut butter, and snickerdoodles. It was now time to start thinking about ‘classic with a twist’ cookies. I don’t know about you, but I love M&M’s. Really, any kind of M&M and that got me thinking about M&M cookies. My only hang up was that I already fulfilled the chocolate variety of the request (although who says no to more chocolate?) and I only needed non-chocolate items. What other candy could I use? I know, Reese’s Pieces!

Reece's Pieces Cookies

Yes! Reese’s Pieces would work wonderfully and they’re peanut buttery delicious. I marched forward with my candy of choice and decided to put it on top of my very favorite cookie dough. This dough is magical. Believe me when I tell you that I have tried other cookie doughs and this one is by far the best in texture and flavor.

Next time you’re looking for a new take on a classic cookie, give these a try. Everyone gave these rave reviews with even one person telling my husband that they were the best cookies ever.

Reese’s Pieces Cookies
Recipe by Pixelbaking
Makes: about 32 cookies, Difficulty: Beginner

Cookies:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg + 1 egg yolk
  • Reese’s Pieces, or candy of your choice

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper. Arrange the baking racks in the upper and lower third of the oven.

Sift together the flour, baking soda and salt; set aside.

In a bowl of a stand mixer, cream together the butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar until well blended. Beat in the vanilla, egg, and egg yolk until light and fluffy. Blend in the sifted ingredients until just combined. Drop cookie dough by rounded tablespoon 2-3 inches apart onto the prepared cookies sheets. Press down slightly until dough is about 1/2-inch thick. Press candies lightly into dough. (I recommend placing candies as close together as possible because the cookie will spread during baking)

Bake for 13-15 minutes rotating half way through. Remove from oven and let cool on baking sheets for a couple of minutes before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.

  • Note: These cookies store well in an air tight container for at least a week, but I doubt they’ll be around for that long.
Comment

