Baked Cinnamon Sugar Cake Donuts

Baked Cinnamon Sugar Cake Donuts

To put it plainly: I realized I’ve neglected my blog and I need to try harder. I don’t know about you, but I’ve been busy, busy, busy, ever since the first day of Autumn hit and this is the time of year that I cherish due to the upcoming holidays and all of the baking I get to do. Or should get to do.

Baked Cinnamon Sugar Cake Donuts

My schedule has been increasingly busy ever since I made the decision to go back to school to study graphic design. Taking classes on top of working full-time has presented quite the challenge for me to get into my kitchen to bake or cook anything at all – just ask my poor, starving husband.

Not being able to bake was really bumming me out (I know, total first world problem) and I was very excited to finally whip something up for breakfast this morning. Autumn for me means apples, pumpkins and everything spice, so I decided on a cinnamon sugar cake donut.

Baked Cinnamon Sugar Cake Donuts

This recipe was incredibly easy to put together and would be a big hit for breakfast or a brunch get together on the weekends. The end result has the cakey texture of a coffee cake with the look of a cinnamon sugar covered donut hole. 

Grab a cup of coffee and sit down with a few of these for an extremely delicious breakfast. I bet you can’t just have one!

Baked Cinnamon Sugar Cake Donuts
Adapted from Glorious Treats
Makes: 24 donuts, Difficulty: Beginner

Donuts:

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 6 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup milk, any fat content

Coating:

  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a mini muffin pan with non-stick cooking spray.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt and nutmeg. Set aside.

In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat the butter for about 1 minute then add sugar and beat on medium speed until blended, about 2 minutes. Beat in the egg and vanilla, mixing until smooth. With the mixer on low-speed, add the flour mixture in three additions and the milk in two additions, beginning and ending with the flour mixture. Mix until just combined.

Scoop the batter into the mini muffin pan by heaping tablespoons, dividing evenly in 24 (a small cookie scoop works great for this). Bake for about 12 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out cleanly.  Cool donuts in the pan for about 5 minutes and transfer to a cooking rack.

Melt 6 tablespoons of butter in a bowl and set aside. In another bowl, mix 1/2 cup sugar and 2 teaspoons of cinnamon. One at a time, roll the donuts in the butter and then in the cinnamon sugar mixture until coated. Set on a cooling rack for about 20 minutes since they are better once the butter and cinnamon are absorbed a little.

Comment

