No-Bake Chocolate, Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Cookies

No-Bake Chocolate, Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Cookies

I’m not sure where I’ve been because I had never heard of no-bake cookies until I started perusing various baking blogs online. And I sure as heck had no idea that they could be as easy as boiling a few ingredients together! However, now that I’ve tried them (twice) this week, I can tell you that I don’t know where these no-bake morsels have been all my life.

No-Bake Chocolate, Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Cookies

The beauty of these cookies are that they’re incredibly easy to make and perfect for those moments when you want a quick dose of chocolate, peanut butter goodness. They’re also a great recipe to make with kids since they’re simple and because this recipe does not contain eggs, samples can be taken straight from the pot.

No-Bake Chocolate, Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Cookies

When I first bit into these cookies, it kind of reminded me of chocolate peanut butter fudge with oatmeal mixed in. The chocolate and butter base is quite sugary, but gets nicely balanced out by the peanut butter and oatmeal.

I’ll admit that I ate way too many of these and sampled from the pot more than I should have because I couldn’t wait. But oatmeal has enough good nutrition to balance out that other stuff, right? That’s what I’ll keep telling myself.

No-Bake Chocolate, Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Cookies
Adapted from Ezra Pound Cake
Makes: about 3 dozen cookies, Difficulty: Beginner

Cookies:

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup milk, any fat content
  • 4 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup chunky peanut butter
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 cups quick-cooking oats

Line a couple of baking pans with waxed paper.

Place the butter, sugar, milk, and cocoa powder into a medium pot. Turn the heat on high and bring the mixture to a full, rolling boil, and let it boil for exactly 1 minute. (If the mixture boils for less time, the cookies will be runny and won’t set. If the mixture boils for too long, the cookies will be crumbly)

Remove immediately from the heat and stir in the peanut butter and vanilla. Mix until smooth. Mix in the oats until they are evenly coated.

Working with two spoons or a small ice cream scoop, drop the mixture by tablespoons onto the waxed paper. If you would like them to be more of a cookie shape, press them down a bit since they will set in whatever shape you place them in. Let cool until set.

  • Note: I used chunky peanut butter because I liked the extra texture, however a creamy variety can also be used.
One thought on “No-Bake Chocolate, Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Peanut-Butter No Bake Cookies | Zlater Family CookBook

Comment

