Furikake Snack Mix

Furikake Chex Mix

One of my very favorite things about Hawaii is the food. I joke that half of the reason I visit my family on Oahu is to eat all of the local fare, AKA grinds, that I miss! In a previous post I spoke about how I enjoyed watching my relatives in the kitchen and how it really inspired me to get into cooking and baking. For my entry today, I’m going to reminisce about one of my beloved Hawaii snack foods – furikake snack mix.

Furikake Chex Mix

I distinctly remember being at recess when my best friend from grade school took out a baggie of furikake snack mix from her backpack. Her mother had made it and I had never tried a snack mix containing cereal aside from the Chex variety you can make from the recipes on the box. As you can probably tell from my description, it made an impression.

Furikake Chex Mix

The mix was sweet from the corn syrup and salty from the furikake and soy sauce. I know you might be thinking – what exactly is furikake and why would I ever put soy sauce in a snack mix? Let me explain. Furikake is a Japanese seaweed seasoning that is used to flavor rice and I assure you, it’s delicious. And since this mix contains Asian-type ingredients, the soy sauce compliments the furikake, butter and sugar incredibly well.

Furikake Chex Mix

This concoction is something I forgot I missed until one of my friends asked me to bake a batch for her. Now, I end up making it at least a few times a year; always for the holidays and whenever we have gatherings. Thanks C, you reminded me of a fond childhood food memory and a fantastic Hawaii snack!

Furikake Snack Mix
Recipe by Pixelbaking
Makes: about 18 cups, Difficulty: Beginner

Snack Mix:

  • 1 cup unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup light-colored corn syrup
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1/2 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1.5 ounces of nori furikake
  • 5 cups corn Chex
  • 5 cups rice Chex
  • 4 cups Bugles corn chips
  • 2 cups Asian-type rice crackers or wheat crackers or pretzels
  • 2 cups mixed nuts

Preheat oven to 250 degrees F.

Combine the cereals, Bugles, crackers and nuts in a large baking pan (I recommend using the large type for turkeys) and set aside.

In a small pot, combine the butter, corn syrup, oil, soy sauce, and Worcestershire sauce over medium-high heat. Mix periodically until butter is fully melted then add in the sugar. Remove from heat and stir until the sugar is fully dissolved.

Pour mixture and furikake over the dry ingredients and stir gently to coat. Bake in the oven for 2 1/2 hours, stirring every 15 or 20 minutes. Line a large baking sheet or your counter with paper towels. This is to cool the mix and soak up the residual butter. Remove from oven and immediately spoon the mix onto the paper towels. Let cool completely.

  • Note: This snack mix will store well in an airtight container for a week.
2 thoughts on “Furikake Snack Mix

Comment

