Chocolate Coconut Macadamia Nut Cookies

Chocolate Coconut Macadamia Nut Cookies

As I sat down to write this post, I exclaimed – oh, how I miss the sunshine! My husband turned and looked at me like I was crazy. Not because it’s abnormal for a person to miss sunshine, but it’s a little different for me. It might sound funny, but I love crisp, cold weather and I don’t mind overcast days. Maybe I got my fill of warm and sunny days from those years of living in Hawaii?

Chocolate Coconut Macadamia Nut Cookies

For whatever reason I missed the sunny weather today and I felt that I needed a pick me up to remind me of the tropics. One of the first things I thought about was a box of Hawaiian Host chocolate covered macadamia nuts. If you’ve ever been to Hawaii or if your grocer stocks products from the islands, you know what I mean when I say they are everywhere. Everywhere. Using these candies as an inspiration, I wanted to create a cookie that had the same flavors with coconut added for extra flair.

Chocolate Coconut Macadamia Nut Cookies

These cookies turned out chewy and very chocolatey. The chunks of macadamia nuts and shredded coconut added great texture and made each bite even better. If you’re like me and you find yourself longing for some sunshine in the middle of Fall, give these cookies a try. Bake a batch and imagine yourself basking in the warm sun…or at least in front of a box of Hawaiian Host chocolates!

Chocolate Coconut Macadamia Nut Cookies
Recipe by Pixelbaking
Makes: about 24 cookies, Difficulty: Beginner

Cookies:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup macadamia nuts, chopped
  • 1/2 cup shredded sweetened coconut

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

Sift together the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt; set aside.

Beat softened butter and sugar in a medium bowl with a hand mixer on medium speed until fluffy. Add the egg and vanilla; beat well. Gradually add in flour mixture, beating well. Stir in macadamia nuts and coconut. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto the prepared parchment paper.

Bake for 9-10 minutes. Do not over bake; the cookies will be soft. Remove from oven and let cool on baking sheets for 5 minutes before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.

Comment

