Cranberry Sour Cream Muffins

Cranberry Sour Cream Muffins

I scared myself. I had a moment this weekend when I stopped and remembered that it will be Thanksgiving in just four days. I’m aware that it makes me sound like I can’t read a calendar or that the holidays have somehow snuck up on me, but I assure you that’s not the case. My issue is that Thanksgiving was #5 on my ‘To Think Of List’ and it kind of got away from me.

Cranberry Sour Cream Muffins

I’m sure all of you can relate to my busy holiday schedule between family, friends, and those surprises that always pop up last-minute, so I encourage you to take a deep breath with me. Even in the midst of craziness, one of my most favorite moments is weekend breakfast. There’s just something so comforting about the scent of baked goods in the morning and I knew I had to make that happen.

Cranberry Sour Cream Muffins

Since Thanksgiving is now fully on my mind, I wanted a simple breakfast muffin with fresh cranberries and cinnamon. And these were exactly what I was hoping for! They were moist with pockets of tart cranberry and had the most amazing brown sugar and cinnamon crumb topping.

The muffins don’t need a lot of preparation and are also easy to put together, so they’re perfect for those busy mornings or any time you feel like a delightful treat.

Cranberry Sour Cream Muffins
Inspired by Eugenia Bone, Food and Wine
Makes: 12 muffins, Difficulty: Beginner

Topping:

  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Muffins:

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/3 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 rounded cup sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon extract
  • 1 rounded cup fresh cranberries

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line a muffin pan with paper liners.

Make the topping: In a small bowl, combine the brown sugar, flour, butter and cinnamon. Rub with your fingers to form coarse crumbs. Refrigerate until ready to use.

Make the muffins: In a medium bowl, whisk the flour with the baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In another medium bowl, using a handheld mixer, beat the egg at medium speed until frothy. Add the sugar and melted butter and beat until pale yellow, about 1 minute. Beat in sour cream, vanilla and lemon until blended. Add the dry ingredients and beat at low-speed until almost blended. Using a rubber spatula, fold the cranberries into the batter.

Fill the muffin cups about 3/4 full of batter and sprinkle with the topping. Bake for 25 minutes or until a cake tester inserted into the center of the muffin comes out clean. Remove the muffins from the pan and let cool on a rack.

  • Note: The muffins can be stored in an airtight container for up to 3 days.
4 thoughts on “Cranberry Sour Cream Muffins

  1. Pingback: SRC: Cranberry Tangerine Scones « Brooklyn Locavore

  2. Pingback: Cranberry Orange Butter Cookies | Pixel Baking

Comment

