Cranberry Grape Compote

Cranberry Grape Compote

Thanksgiving is almost upon us. Are you prepared?

I mostly am (fingers crossed). I finished the last of my grocery shopping last night and I’ve begun prepping some items for our November feast. I am usually assigned the cooking tasks of side dishes and dessert, and this year is no different. 

Cranberry Grape Compote

I feel like I’m a pretty traditional girl, so I don’t deviate too far from the classic Thanksgiving fare such as mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, and cranberry sauce. But not just any cranberry dressing can have a place at my table (no cans!). Years ago, I found this wonderful cranberry grape compote on Martha Stewart.com and it’s been part of my Thanksgiving tradition ever since.

Cranberry Grape Compote

This highly requested sauce has four simple ingredients and couldn’t be more delicious. The fresh cranberries and grapes simmer down to a thick and incredibly vibrant red compote that’s perfect to accompany turkey or biscuits or both. And since this recipe keeps well in the refrigerator for at least a couple of weeks, I’ve even doubled the recipe to top waffles for post-holiday weekend breakfasts.

There are many things I can give thanks for this year and I’m looking forward to the holiday. I hope all of you enjoy a safe and wonderful Thanksgiving too!

Cranberry-Grape Compote
Recipe from Martha Stewart.com
Makes: about 4 cups, Difficulty: Beginner

Compote:

  • 1 12 ounce package fresh cranberries
  • 3 cups seedless red grapes
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt

In a medium saucepan over medium-high heat, bring cranberries, grapes, sugar and 1/2 cup of water to boil. Reduce heat, and simmer until most of the cranberries have popped and grapes are falling apart, 10-15 minutes.

Remove from heat; add salt and stir to combine. Let cool to room temperature. The sauce will thicken as it cools. Serve at room temperature.

Comment

