Cranberry Orange Butter Cookies

Cranberry Orange Butter Biscuits

As you could probably tell, I’ve had cranberries on the brain. Cranberries, cranberries everywhere!

I’ve been all about them as of late and I haven’t been able to get enough. Ever since I baked off my recipe of Cranberry Sour Cream Muffins, I’ve really wanted to make something cranberry and orange flavored.

Cranberry Orange Butter Biscuits

My first inclination was to bake cranberry orange scones, but then I started thinking about a shortbread, which lead me to butter biscuits (cookies to us in the States). While I was in England, I fell head over heels for butter biscuits and my favorite flavor was strawberry and clotted cream. I should could order a tin of them online right now and the shipping fees would be completely worth it!

Cranberry Orange Butter Biscuits

These cookies came out exactly as I had hoped. Like their English counterparts, they have a rich flavor from the butter with the right amounts of dried cranberry and orange zest intermingled. I shared these cookies with a friend and she mentioned how they would be perfect with a cup of tea (I agree). In fact, she said that she needed a cup of English Breakfast and an episode of Downton Abbey to complete the moment. Sounds perfect to me!

Cranberry Orange Butter Cookies
Recipe adapted from P4, Food.com
Makes: about 3 dozen cookies, Difficulty: Intermediate

Biscuits:

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon orange zest

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

Beat the butter, sugar, salt, and vanilla together until smooth and creamy. Mix in the egg yolk until well incorporated, scraping down the bowl as needed. Add in the flour and mix until just incorporated. Add in the cranberries and orange zest and mix lightly until blended. Put onto a lightly flour surface and knead a few times to smooth out the dough. Shape into a disk, turn onto a sheet of plastic wrap, and refrigerated for an hour.

Remove the dough from the refrigerator and turn out onto a lightly floured surface. With a rolling-pin, roll out dough until about a little less than a 1/4-inch thick. Using a 3-inch biscuit or cookie cutter, cut out cookies and place on a cookie sheet about an inch apart. Bake for about 16-18 minutes until the cookies are starting to turn golden brown at the edges.

Comment

