Layered French Toast

Layered French Toast

The Winter holidays flew by and what a wonderful time it was! There was no shortage of cheer and merriment to be seen in my household, as I was lucky enough to be able to spend my time enjoying great food and company with my family and loved ones.

Layered French Toast

D, my husband’s brother, has been staying with us since Christmas Eve and every morning I’ve been creating wonderful brunch fare for use to savor. Since my husband and I are huge suckers for french toast, I had to make my version that was inspired by a quaint cafe called The Braeburn Restaurant.

We visited this place a couple of years ago and I ordered their sinfully delicious Stuffed Apple French Toast. I was so enamored by the meal that I knew that I had to re-create it on my own.

Layered French Toast

My french toast is pared down in comparison to The BraeburnĀ Restaurant, but it still contains the delectable ingredients of cream cheese and jam or compote. The toast turns out moist with a slight hint of cinnamon and becomes the perfect vehicle for the cheese and fruit combination.

This is also equally delightful with or without maple syrup depending on your preferences. Whichever way you decide to go, this french toast takes the classic dish up a level and will hit the right notes for a great breakfast or brunch.

Layered French Toast
Recipe by Pixelbaking
Makes: 3 servings, Difficulty: Beginner

French Toast:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup half and half (I used fat-free half and half)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3 slices good quality white bread, cut in half (6 slices if smaller sized)
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • powdered sugar for dusting
  • cinnamon for dusting

Filling:

  • 6 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
  • jam or compote of your choice

In a medium sized mixing bowl, whisk together the eggs, half and half, salt and cinnamon. Dip bread into mixture, let it soak for about 30 seconds on each side. Remove bread from bowl and let rest on a cooling rack for 1-2 minutes. This allows the mixture to really soak into the bread and keeps it moist.

Melt 1 tablespoon of butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Place 2 pieces of bread into the pan to cook until browned; 2-3 minutes per side. Remove from pan and let cool on a rack for a couple of minutes.

Layer about 2 ounces of cream cheese onto a piece of toast. Spread about 1 tablespoon of jam onto the cream cheese and place another piece of toast on top. Spread another 1 tablespoon of jam on the top piece of toast. Sprinkle with powdered sugar and cinnamon, if using. Serve immediately.

Comment

