Simple Artichoke Hummus

Simple Artichoke Hummus

My wonderful friend, J, spent new year’s eve with us and brought over a container of pine nut hummus with multi-grain crackers. With the way my husband ate the hummus, you would think that he’s never had it before. “It’s amazing,” he exclaimed as he put another cracker into his mouth.

Simple Artichoke Hummus

Ever since that night, we’ve been obsessed with hummus. After my grocery run earlier in the week, my husband asked if I had bought more. I told him I didn’t and I thought he was going to be crushed. I further explained that I didn’t buy any hummus because I was going to make my own and I was going to add artichokes, one of my favorite vegetables.

Simple Artichoke Hummus

This hummus recipe, well, tastes like delicious hummus and there’s no way you can go wrong with it. It’s tangy from the tahini and lemon, and rich with flavor from the garbanzo beans. It makes a great lightened up spread for a sandwich and is always a great dip for vegetables and crackers.

 It’s no exaggeration to say that hummus is incredibly versatile and couldn’t be easier to make. Even if we’ve eaten it every day this week, we still can’t get enough. This recipe is highly addictive and you’ve been warned!

Simple Artichoke Hummus
Recipe by Pixelbaking
Makes: about 4 cups, Difficulty: Beginner

Hummus:

  • 1-14 ounce can of artichoke hearts, quartered
  • 1 large garlic clove, quartered
  • 2-15 ounce cans of garbanzo beans (chick peas), drained
  • 2 medium lemons, juiced
  • 4 tablespoons tahini
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika, optional
  • salt to taste

In a blender or a bowl of a food processor, combine the artichoke hearts and garlic. Chop for about 10 seconds. Add in the garbanzo beans and blend for another 10 seconds. Add in lemon juice, tahini, olive oil, and paprika (if using), and blend until creamy. Add in water a tablespoon at a time if the consistency is too thick. Season with salt to taste. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with paprika before serving.

One thought on “Simple Artichoke Hummus

  1. Pingback: Avocado Hummus | Stacia D. Kelly

Comment

