Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Bars

Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Bars

It happened again. One of my top, FWKP (first world kitchen problems) is over ripened bananas. I buy bananas with the intention of eating them within a few days, and it never fails that there will be at least a couple left. Since I hate wasting food, I can’t possibly throw them away and thus, I’m always looking for recipes that put my older bananas to use.

Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Bars

It was a Saturday morning and my husband asked me what was for breakfast. I shrugged my shoulders and I told him that I was just going to look for something that caught my fancy. He took that to mean he was fending for himself and took out the container of oatmeal. He proceeded to make a batch of cereal and topped it with banana slices and peanut butter. That’s when my breakfast epiphany hit – wouldn’t it be great if there was a bar that contained oatmeal, peanut butter, and bananas?

Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Bars

Basically, I was hoping for a bar that tasted like a baked bowl of oatmeal and I’m pleased to report that is exactly what I got. These bars contain very little sugar, and aside from said sugar, have very health conscious and nutritious ingredients. They’re sweet from the ripe banana and have a nice, chewy texture from the peanut butter and oats. These breakfast bars are a snap to mix up, super filling, and perfect for those mornings on the go.

Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Bars
Adapted from Cooking2Perfection
Makes: 12 bars, Difficulty: Beginner

Bars:

  • 1 1/2 cups quick cooking oats
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used fat-free)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 large ripened banana, mashed
  • 1/4 cup natural peanut butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a 8×8 baking pan with foil and lightly grease with cooking spray.

In a bowl, mix together oats, brown sugar, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Add vanilla, milk and egg; mix until thoroughly combined. Add mashed banana and peanut butter and mix all ingredients together.

Pour mixture into the prepared baking dish and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until fully set. Remove from oven and let cool before slicing them.

  • Note: Try adding 1/3 cup of chopped walnuts, chocolate or toffee chips for an added variety.
Comment

