Fresh Basil Hummus

Simple Fresh Basil Hummus

Over the last two weeks, I’ve been obsessed with caprese salad and sandwiches. Because of my preoccupation, I’ve been purchasing copious amounts of basil, mozzarella and tomatoes. I must have misjudged how much basil I really needed because I ended up with a huge bunch left over. Oops.

Simple Fresh Basil Hummus

That’s an easy fix, right? Just buy more cheese and tomato! I hesitated to go this route since it’s possible my husband was starting to think I had an addiction that a reality TV show could be interested in.

What else could I do with my basil? I have nothing against pesto (because it’s delicious), but I wanted to avoid another trip to the store and to work with what I had in my pantry. As it turns out, there’s such a thing as basil hummus.

Simple Fresh Basil Hummus

I will admit that I was a little skeptical at first. There’s quite a bit of fresh basil in this recipe and it kind of looks like guacamole. I was foolish to ever doubt. This hummus has a bright, light flavor from the basil and a slight spice from the addition of Tabasco sauce. The flavors end up melding beautifully and it tastes even better after being chilled for a couple of hours.

I also highly recommend eating this dip with any cheese flavored cracker (that could just be the caprese talking). Get your basil ready!

Fresh Basil Hummus
Recipe inspired by Simply Recipes
Makes: about 3 cups, Difficulty: Beginner

Hummus:

  • 1 1/2 cups fresh basil leaves, packed
  • 2 garlic cloves, quartered
  • 2-15 ounce cans of garbanzo beans (chick peas), drained
  • 1/4 cup dry roasted almonds
  • 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice (about 1 1/2 lemons)
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon Tabasco sauce, optional
  • salt to taste
  • 2-4 tablespoons water

In a blender or a bowl of a food processor, combine the basil leaves and garlic. Pulse until finely chopped. Add the garbanzo beans, almonds, lemon juice, and olive oil. Pulse several times, for several seconds each, until the hummus is smooth. Add in Tabasco sauce, if using, and salt to taste. Add water to the point of desired consistency.

2 thoughts on “Fresh Basil Hummus

Comment

