Chocolate Pancakes with Chocolate Sauce

Chocolate Pancakes with Chocolate Sauce

“It’s like you made a cake,” said my husband as he took a bite of pancake. Yep. I discovered how to get away with eating dessert for breakfast – add chocolate and call it a pancake.

There are some weekends when I really crave a pancake fresh from the griddle and this morning was no different. I also wanted to try a recipe that I’ve never made before (because variety is the spice of life) and something chocolately sounded divine.

Chocolate Pancakes with Chocolate Sauce

Say hello to possibly one of the most decadent and easiest to put together morning desserts meals – the chocolate pancake topped with chocolate sauce. Oh yes, you read that right. Not only are these chocolate hot cakes, but they are also topped with a very rich chocolate sauce.

Chocolate Pancakes with Chocolate Sauce

These pancakes are fluffy, moist, and really do taste like lightly sweetened chocolate cake discs. It’s no secret that I love cake, so these are right up my alley and I’d be happy eating them as is. However, the addition of chocolate sauce and fruit really put this dish over the top and make it a chocolate lovers dream come true.

My husband actually shushed me when I asked him how they were because he was busy enjoying the chocolate goodness. This recipe got his highest approval rating – complete silence.

Chocolate Pancakes with Chocolate Sauce
Recipe adapted from Cooking Classy
Makes: about 10 6-inch pancakes, Difficulty: Beginner

Pancakes:

  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 1/3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 cup milk (I used soy milk)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • butter for pan
  • fruit, optional

Sauce:

  • 8 ounces chocolate chips of your choice (semi-sweet, milk, dark)
  • 1 cup heavy cream

Preheat a griddle or large skillet on medium heat.

In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together sugar and cocoa until well combined. Whisk in brown sugar, flour, baking soda and salt. Make a well in the center of the dry mixture and set aside. In a separate medium mixing bowl, whisk together eggs, oil, milk and vanilla extract. Pour wet mixture into dry mixture and whisk to blend (do not over mix, batter will have some lumps).

Butter griddle or skillet if necessary. Spoon about 1/4 cup of batter into pan and slightly spread batter in a circular motion. Allow to cook until bubbles begin to appear on the surface, about 1 minute. With a spatula, carefully flip the pancake and cook for about another minute or until done. Remove from the pan onto a baking rack. Repeat until the batter is used. Make the chocolate sauce.

In a small pot, bring the heavy cream to a gentle boil over medium heat. Place the chocolate chips in a medium heat proof bowl. Pour the hot cream over the chocolate chips and stir until chocolate has melted. Pour sauce over pancakes and enjoy.

10 thoughts on “Chocolate Pancakes with Chocolate Sauce

  1. Pingback: Quinoa Breakfast Cereal with Fruit | Pixel Baking

    • Oh my goodness, I sure did! Thank you for commenting to let me know. I’ve updated the recipe to include 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour in the ingredient list. Thanks again!

  2. No problem. I made a really close guess based on some other pancake recipes I make and made these this morning. These pancakes were really good. I look forward to experimenting with these a lot. Would you mind if I shared these on my blog? I would give you full credit in anyway you want. I am new to blogging and not sure of the proper way of doing things yet. Thanks for your time and great recipe.

    • I agree that some experimentation would be amazing; my husband, who loves chocolate on chocolate, suggested the addition of chocolate chips. =)

      I encourage you to share this recipe on your blog and I’m glad you enjoyed the recipe enough to do so! My suggestion and practice for recipe credit would be to reference whichever recipe(s) you followed the closest, be it the one I posted or a post from another blog/site. Starting a blog can be a daunting, yet an exciting endeavor and I look forward to seeing posts from you.

      • I was thinking marachino cherries or banana, pineapple and strawberries. You can check out my blog at asolitaryfeast.wordpress. com. It’s just a baby blog at this point. I have lots of plans for it in the future. I would appreciate any input you have.

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Pancakes | A Solitary Feast

Comment

