Quinoa Breakfast Cereal with Fruit

Quinoa Breakfast Cereal with Fruit

Ah, Saturday mornings! They’re probably my most cherished time of the week since they mark the glorious start of the weekends. (Insert a quip from the Dowager Countess of Grantham from Downton Abbey about “what is a weekend?”)

One of the things I make it a point to do every Saturday is to prepare breakfast for myself and my husband since I just don’t get that chance during the work week.

Quinoa Breakfast Cereal with Fruit

It wasn’t too long ago that I made Chocolate Pancakes with Chocolate Sauce and baked a batch of Peanut Butter and Jelly Muffins, so I opted for something out of breakfast left field – quinoa. Yep, I just said quinoa. I know that it isn’t what usually what comes to mind when you think of morning fare, but simmered in soy milk with a touch of cinnamon, vanilla, and brown sugar, quinoa takes on a fantastic new flavor.

Quinoa Breakfast Cereal with Fruit

This cereal has just the right amount of sweetness and an extra crunchy texture from the addition of chopped almonds. It’s low-fat, gluten-free and lactose-free to boot! I’ll admit that I was honestly surprised that I enjoyed it so much and I will definitely be making this again as an oatmeal alternative.

Happy weekend everyone!


Quinoa Breakfast Cereal
Recipe inspired by Driscoll‘s
Makes: about 4 servings, Difficulty: Beginner

Quinoa:

  • 2 cups unsweetened soy or almond milk
  • 1 cup quinoa, rinsed
  • 1/2 cup almonds or walnuts, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 cups fruit of your choice

Place milk and quinoa in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring occasionally. Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for about 20-25 minutes or until milk has mostly been absorbed. Remove from heat and mix in nuts, cinnamon, vanilla extract, and brown sugar. Serve warm with extra milk.

One thought on “Quinoa Breakfast Cereal with Fruit

  1. Pingback: Favorites: Summer Berry Recipes | Pixel Baking

Comment

