Blueberry Avocado Muffins

Blueberry Avocado Muffins

My dear friend J was over the other week with fresh avocados to make guacamole for us. Before starting the dish, my husband asks her how one peels an avocado. After telling him he was cute and laughing in his general direction, J explained to my husband that avocados don’t get peeled, but instead are cut and pitted.

As you can tell, fresh avocado is a new thing for my husband and to be honest, somewhat foreign to me as well. My family occasionally ate avocado when I was growing up, but as an adult, I never had a huge urge for them…until now.

Blueberry Avocado Muffins

After her fresh guacamole (which was super good!), J opened the avocado flood gates for us. She told us how she loved them on salads, in chili or soups or really anything she could get away with. I can definitely understand the allure of the creamy texture and rich flavor. This also got me thinking – can I put avocado in a baked good? The answer: yes, I can!

Blueberry Avocado Muffins

I wasn’t sure what to expect from these muffins. I mean, I was replacing any oil or butter with avocado and sour cream, but I was pleasantly surprised because they were tasty! The bread was moist from the blended avocado and it had delightful bursts of tang from the fresh blueberries. They really did turn out just like traditional blueberry muffins with a healthier (and greener) twist and they might be my new favorite item to use fresh avocado for!


Blueberry Avocado Muffins
Recipe adapted from Gimme Some Oven
Makes: about 18 muffins, Difficulty: Beginner

Muffins:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour 
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 large, ripe avocado, seeded and cut
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup light sour cream or plain yogurt
  • 1 cup blueberries, fresh

Topping:

  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup raw sugar
  • 2 tablespoons butter, softened

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line muffin tins with paper liners.


Make the Topping: Whisk together the flour and sugar. Add the butter and mix in using your fingers to rub the butter into the dry ingredients. Set aside.

Make the Muffins: In a medium bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Spoon avocado into another medium bowl and beat on medium speed with a hand mixer until smooth. Add sugar and beat until well blended. Add the egg, beating until completely combined. Add the vanilla and sour cream and mix well. In two batches, mix in the dry ingredients until just combined. Gently fold in the blueberries.

Using a spoon or an ice cream scoop, divide the batter among the 18 cups. Sprinkle the topping over the batter, dividing evenly.

Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a wooden tester comes out clean. Let cool in the pan on a cooling rack for 5 minutes before removing. Serve warm or at room temperature.

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Avocado Muffins

  1. Wow, this is such a cool idea. To look at these, I would never guess that they contain avocado. I’ve heard of substituting avocado for butter in baking before, but I’ve never tried it. These sound delightful, though. I should really give it a try! 🙂

    • I’ve actually tried these a couple of times; once with gluten free flour and they’ve turned out well. My goal is to try out more butter or oil substitutes in the coming months. Thanks for commenting!

Comment

