Banana Bread Muffins

Banana Bread Muffins

I spent a good chunk of my childhood growing up in Hawaii. I know, I’m a lucky girl! Most people wonder how I ever moved away from the tropical island with the sun and the beaches. Oddly enough, I don’t miss any of those things.  The parts that I love most about Hawaii are the culture and the food. Hawaii has a wonderful local culture of Aloha where friends are treated like family and there are always regular gatherings filled with great eats.

Banana Bread Muffins 3

Some of my best memories are of watching my relatives in the kitchen whipping up their take on a certain dish or baking a favorite dessert. These were the moments where I learned that cooking wasn’t just about following a recipe, but following instinct and experience. Observing my family is what really inspired my culinary curiosity and love for food at a young age. 

Banana Bread Muffins 2

To honor my Auntie, I’m sharing her recipe for banana bread muffins. I’ve had many a banana bread and hers is one of the best in Hawaii. The ingredients and taste are straight forward and simple. Unlike some of those other breads out there that have a lower banana content, these muffins are moist and full of fruit. They’re perfect for breakfast, a snack, or dessert, and I have even topped them with cream cheese frosting which makes them even more divine. If you enjoy a good banana bread than try my Auntie’s recipe and get a little taste of Hawaii.

Banana Bread Muffins
Recipe from Auntie B.
Makes: about 24 muffins, Difficulty: Beginner

Muffins:

  • 2 cups mashed ripe bananas, about 4
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line muffin tins with paper liners.

Mix bananas, oil, and eggs in a large bowl with a wooden spoon. Add sugar, flour, baking soda and salt. Mix thoroughly until all ingredients are well blended. Fill tins about 2/3-3/4 full and bake for 20 minutes or until a cake tester comes out cleanly.

  • Note: You can also make this recipe in a lightly greased 9×13 inch baking pan.  Bake for 45-50 minutes or until a cake tester comes out cleanly.

2 thoughts on “Banana Bread Muffins

  1. Pingback: Banana goodness | weekenders & drive-bys

  2. Pingback: Peanut Butter Banana Bread | Pixel Baking

Comment